Walking it off

One thing that can be good for people with chronic fatigue, including those with CFS, is to get exercise. Not a LOT of exercise, because that depletes the small energy reserve we have. But some. This isn’t that radical, for most people getting exercise is a good thing. But for someone with chronic fatigue, not exercising –> being more tired –> not wanting to exercise even more–> being even more tired –>… is an extra hard spiral to get out of. You are..well..chronically fatigued, so the thought of moving is rarely appealing. Even for ice cream. ICE CREAM. Doing it just because it will make you feel better over all (insert cynical “Suuuuuure it will” from brain here) in theory is, well, hard.

So I’ve been very, very bad about it.

A few weeks ago I got myself one of these:

Omron HJ-112 Digital Pocket Pedometer

A little pedometer just like this that I can carry in my pocket to keep track of my steps (except mine has never had a number that high on the screen). Everyone is supposed to get 10,000 steps a day to be healthy. Back before I had CFS, way back, in high school, I had a pedometer for about a year. And I consistently got about 10,000 steps. Sometimes 8,000, sometimes 9,000, but often 10,000. Sometimes even 11,000 or 12,000! So I figured, hey, I must be pretty close from walking in everyday life, I’ll just bump it up a bit with some focus.

Not so much.

In the past week I have not had a single day out of 3,000. That’s 30% of what I should be getting. (As a side note, if I never move, why am I still so tired???)

Anyway, Corey challenged us to pick one way we would take care of ourselves in the upcoming week and share it with her.

I decided to focus on improving my steps. Nothing too crazy. Not going for 10,000. Don’t want to set myself up to fail.

I’m shooting for 5,000 steps a day.

Every day.

For a week.

Starting today.

And to keep myself honest, I am posting my steps on this here blog. Hopefully this will motivate me to get in the habit, and it will be easier to keep up, and maybe even *gasp* improve on, after the week is over.

Maybe it will also help me move down from being the heaviest I have ever been. Ever. Did I mention I’m at my highest weight ever? I’m not OK with this.

So, as I said, starting tonight. And now, excluding any getting-ready-to-go-to-bed walking, I have my step count to share with you:

5,279

It’s a start.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Walking it off

  1. I have one of those. It’s still in the package because I’m afraid of what the number will be. You may have just inspired me to go ahead and take the plunge. ;)

Leave a Reply

