2010 A-Z Challenge

I’ve decided to participate in the 2010 A-Z Challenge. Basically, I’m going to try to read a book starting with each letter of the alphabet by the end of 2010. Insane, you ask? Why yes, say I. The “nice” thing is, though, that’s I’ve got a 1 hour commute each way to work via bus. Which gives me lots ‘o’ time to read. Probably only about 30-45 minutes of that can I read, but still, adds up. Also, I often read over my lunch break..it is my absolute favorite escape and one thing I really try to find time for.

I now have a page on my blog for the challenge, to list how I’m doing, and when I read a book I’ll be putting up a little review. Little! Promise! I’ll demonstrate:

The Pleasure Palace is a part of the Secrets of the Tudor Court group of books by Kate Emerson. I found it quite enjoyable to read, though definitely brain candy. I’ve always had a bit of an obsession with historical fiction from this period, so the book really appealed to me on that level. The author is careful to be almost entirely historically accurate (she made two small changes, which she points out at the end), and to fill in a possible story which connects all of the facts we know. The main character is a gentlewoman who is raised with Henry VIII and his sisters to be their “friend.” It goes through her life growing up in court. The writing is enjoyable, the story pulled me in, and it has a great strong female lead and a nice romance story. It was a bit predictable, but sometimes I’m OK with that. If you want a light but well-written read, I’d recommend this book.

See? Not so bad? And heck, if you don’t want to read it, you can just skip over the little paragraph!

A lot of times I’ll try to just fit the “review” into my other posts…but of course, that only works if I have something else to say :-)

For now, I must run off with Toby to our doggy playdate. Happy Saturday!

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “2010 A-Z Challenge

  1. What an awesome challenge! I’m a huge fan of historical fiction; I’ll have t check this one out. ;)

Leave a Reply

