TTT: Secret Indulgences

Time for another installment of Too True Tuesday! As Essie puts it:

Too True Tues(day) is your chance to tell it like it is. Tell the world the truth on alternate Tuesdays one blog at a time. Confession is good for the soul and great fun for the rest of us to read.

The topic this week is Secret Indulgences. What would you continue buying, even if you had no money left? Fill in Essie’s blank:

I make my family eat actual grass and twigs so I can buy…….(blank).

I’ve been thinking about this one for awhile now, and having a hard time coming up with anything. I mean, I like my cushy life just the way it is, I don’t really want to cut back anywhere thankyouverymuch. So it’s hard to think, is luxury A more important to me than luxury B (sometimes referred to as “food”)? I don’t know. I think I could give up all of my current little indulgences if it meant eating; books, TV, anything above basic phone service (that is needed for any job, not an indulgence), sweets, dinners out, movies…on and on.

And then it hit me. And this will come as a shock to all of you, I know.

What I refuse to give up is my dog. Or puppy. Or whatever I have at the time. I will always have at least one dog in my life. I don’t care if I have to feed my (future) children literal twigs and leaves, I will have a dog in my home.

But if it makes you feel any better, I’d feed the dog twigs and leaves, too.

So there’s my not-so-secret indulgence. Well, I guess it’s a secret because the average person looking at me would not know the extent to which I am obsessed with value my dog. Most people tend to have a bit of a thing about putting animals above humans, not sure why that is. But if everyone’s eating grass, well, then it’s equal treatment!

What’s your secret indulgence? Share, link up at Essie’s, and then laugh along with everyone else! Happy gut-spilling!

3 Comments

Filed under Too True Tuesday

3 responses to “TTT: Secret Indulgences

  1. Funny, just yesterday my son looked at the “bargain price” dog food I got for Rosie and said mournfully, I wish Rosie could eat like we do….and I responded – “Sergei! You eat the dollar-loaf bread and we only get the sale salads! Rosie DOES eat like we do!!”

  2. Wow a dog! I never would have thought of that as a luxury but you’re right! My cats too! Of course, like Annie, our cats get the sale bottom shelf brand food. In Miami people are total wingnuts about their dogs. Doggie strollers, clothes, bags, the dog itself is designer, it was crazy!

  3. Ha, my dog gets “good” food, but 1) he’s tiny and 2) he eats less of it than he would bargain food, so it works out reasonably cost-wise. It’s still dry kibble, though. I mean, come on. That’s what dogs should eat :-P

    People in the Seattle area are nuts, too, I’ve seen all those things! I never thought a dog would need aviator goggles…for taking a walk…but evidently to some people.. And, I mean, I know it rains here, but..are you really going to put the doggy raincoat’s hood up? *snort*

Leave a Reply

