WW: Baby Fever and First Loves

Time for Writer’s Workshop again!

This week I had some trouble choosing a prompt. See, here’s prompt #1:

1.) Baby fever is in the air. Describe what you would do differently as a first time mom.

To which I thought, “Yes, baby fever IS in the air!” You see, I have slowly been coming down with baby fever. I know mentally that I am not ready for a baby yet. I need to get healthy first. I need to get off any meds (even though there’s no proven risk in humans, I need to). The hubby and I need to be somewhere comfortable financially (a process I’m helping by leaving my job *cough*).

I know all of this.

But baby fever cannot be cured by reason.

It is especially odd, considering just one year ago there was no way in hell that I wanted a child. I knew I would eventually again. But for the couple of years before that, no way, not happening, no. It was a purely academic knowledge that at some point the prospect would probably be appealing again, and that if I never did I would regret it.

Then all of a sudden, my biological clock’s alarm went off, and I can’t find the damn snooze button! So I’m just living with the alarm going off every 10 minutes in my head, just like my cell phone does in the morning for me. It can also be triggered by cute children, like the ones I saw at lunch today.

BUT.

See the second half of that prompt? The part about what would you do differently? I think that means I have to have some experience first. Fooey. So that one’s out.

So we’ll go on to #2, which also jumped out at me:

2.) What book captured your heart? Write about why the first book you loved is the first book you loved.

I know, I know, you’re all shocked, because I’m so not a book person (on a totally unrelated note, go enter my give-away!)

So. First book I really remember loving:

(as always, picture is a link to Amazon)

This book just totally captured my heart. The perfect rhythm. The clever rhymes. The element of “guessing,” even when you know all the answers! And, looking back, it’s all about animals, so I was doomed to like it from the start. I was at Goodwill with my hubby the other day and we came across this book, and I just cried out in joy! He’d never heard of it, so I opened it to show him. Funnily, I still knew the first words by heart:

“Is your mama a llama?” I asked my friend Dave.

“No, she is not,” is the answer Dave gave.

“She hangs by her feet and lives in a cave. I do not think that is how llamas behave.”

“Oh,” I said, “You are right about that. I think that your mama must be a….BAT!”

:-) OK, sorry if that’s not letter-perfect, I’m pulling the words out of my head, but it’s pretty dang close!

Later loves were The Boxcar Children, a kids mystery series, and Island of the Blue Dolphin, the first book I ever remember claiming as a favorite. And later loves can be found in my giveaway! (Had I mentioned that?) So go check them out and then play along!

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “WW: Baby Fever and First Loves

  1. I thought I knew all the children’s books, but this one we missed. Fun post.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog ; -)

  2. That looks like an adorable book, I’ll have to look for it next time at the library!!

  3. ooh, must find this llama book. my son would love it!

    visiting from mama kat’s :)

  4. The llama book is a hit with The Dudes too!

    As for the baby thing, you know, there really never is a perfect time to have one, you can always be healthier, more financially stable, more prepared emotionally, etc., but you will never be ready really. It’s one of those things you can only prepare so much for and then you are still going to be blown to bits by the mini human you birthed. Smart of you, thought for making plans. I had an accidental pregnancy which was scary at first but turns out to have been the best thing that EVER happened to me ever.

    • I love it! I know that I’ll never be 1,000% ready, but the hubby and I do have an idea of where we’d like to be. Not just “better” but a specific place…it shouldn’t be too long now..i’ll just be patient :-)

  5. Hey Honey,

    I’m not surprised you did the book post! I was going to, but thought it might run a little long…

    Great post!

  6. I thought about writing about baby fever even though I’m in the same boat as you and I don’t have kids. But ever since my niece was born last year babies are all I can think about….but in due time it will happen!

    I chose to write about fear instead :)

    Great blog!!!

  7. I have always loved that book! I mean, the title alone is just the GREATEST! Is your Mama a Llama! What is not to love about a title like that? Fabulous for sure!

  8. I did the baby prompt too, and I don’t have kids either. I just wrote about what I WOULD do. haha!

  9. Stopping by from Mama Kat’s…

    I never read your first favorite book, but can definitely relate to Boxcar Children and Island of the Blue Dolphin. Those were some of my favorites too :)

  10. Dan

    I remember that book and the Boxcar Children series mainly from when the son was wild about them. Good books.

    Baby fever never really struck us – we had given up hope of kids when we were blessed with the son. But once you have a baby, your life changes in ways you could not predict. So you have that to look forward to. {*grin*}

  11. One of my daughter’s favorite books as well! Oh, and Boxcar Children! Loved that series.
    P.S. No one is ever ready to have kids! I’m still not, yet here they are, clinging to my leg, preventing me from blogging. Just kidding. Having children is like planning for an all inclusive trip to Hawaii and winding up in Cuba with no passport, to money, and no clue how to speak Spanish. It’s a rude awakening, you feel scared but eventually you find your way to the American Embassy.

    • HA! I love the analogy!!

      I know I’m as mentally ready as I’ll ever be. The biggest things are 1) in < one year we'll be tooootally fine financially on one income. With that on the horizon it seems silly not to wait and 2) my meds haven't been proven dangerous to human infants..but they're not recommended. So I need to get stable off them. Jump those two hurdles…and I'm going to the airport and hoping on a plane at random! :-D

  12. I love box car children. My kids, however, are so taken in by “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” and “Captain Underpants” that I can’t tear them away. Phoey!!

  13. bookworm

    I feel the same way about the baby fever thing. I can’t find the stupid snooze button either, as much as I’ve tried. I have similar goals, or a list of things I want before having a baby: to be healthy (or at least healthier), to be mostly out of debt, for my husband to be done his degree, the basement to be renovated, money saved up in the bank… etc, etc.
    So far away from all that, but I can’t stop thinking about having a baby :(

  14. Visiting from Mama Kat’s

    I never read Is Your Mama A Llama, but I read the Boxcar Children several times! Great book!

Leave a Reply

