A…GOOD Monday?

This morning I went down to chat with one of my favorite coworkers, and she became the THIRD person to ask me to talk to my boss about my three-lettered-friend before I leave. Third. It’s not just me! We had a bitch-session that was about 30 minutes long and soooo therapeutic. Not to mention it just feels good to hear someone else go, “EXACTLY!” as you talk! So much of his crap is hard to describe and/or similar to “how the industry works,” but…it’s different. Everyone who has worked under him gets it. Every. Single. Person. Feels good.

I then decided to prepare for my new job starting this afternoon. It’s been years since I last interpreted, and I was worried I’d be rusty. I have a book called Alpha Teach Yourself American Sign Language in 24 Hours that I bought several years ago when I was still signing regularly and somewhat involved in the Deaf community to try to transition from my sign language to true ASL grammar, etc. Obviously one book wasn’t gonna do it, but it has some great info! A lot of it being things I’d already picked up subconsciously without realizing I was doing so, and since I wasn’t aware I was using such grammatical structures often, I wasn’t using them consistently. Interesting. But I decided that wasn’t enough. So over lunch, I wanted to practice interpreting. I needed someone talking. I went to YouTube, but wasn’t sure how to find someone just talking. Then it hit me, and I spent 10 minutes interpreting for Glenn Beck. That was a fun experience – I also got to practice keeping a straight face/matching their voice rather than staring incredulously ;-)

Finally, evening comes, I get to the job. AWESOME. AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME! So much fun. Another thing I love doing :-D Unfortunately, I’ll also need a part-time job somewhere else to pay bills, since it’s inconsistent and very few hours (at least for now), but it is a fun job on the side, and in time may turn into lots. Anyway, I felt like I did OK, pretty dang good for not having done it for years…afterwards I got very positive feedback from the people who matter. Major ego boost. Made me feel way better :-D Nice to get that kind of feed back! So I left in an awesome mood! (Also nice since I was feeling vaguely unsure if I should be taking such jobs, and evidently relative to the other people they employ I’m good, so that’s really good. I’m still not going to interpret for anything critical at this stage, but low-key things like this, I’m at least as competent as the average so I don’t have to feel (too) bad.) They wanted me to interpret another 6-week-long thing for them, but it’s on Saturdays and I’ll be gone 2 of the 6, one crabbing (yay!) and one to my bro’s wedding (booooo! I realize that is not the appropriate response. It’s a lot of travel to hang out with people I either don’t know or don’t like :P But I do love my brother…). So I had to turn that one down. Hopefully more will come up!

After that job I finally, finally, went to Lowes to get hooks I can screw into my walls at Companions so people can tether their dogs to them. People getting used to clickers have a hard time juggling leash, treats, clicker, hand signals, especially with a distractable dog. Being able to tie them off helps, and helps prevent dogs from playing and/or fighting during class when their people drop the leashes. Tomorrow I have a new class starting, so it’s just a 30 minute intro session, and then I’ll install them. I’ve been meaning to do this for months, but when I get home from work I’m usually too exhausted to contemplate it. This other job re-energized me, so I could go get ‘er done…or at least…get ‘er bought!

Overall, an awesome day. And one day closer to freedom. And hopefully, with the freedom will come some small increase in peace in my life and my self.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “A…GOOD Monday?

  1. Erica

    Yay! Sounds awesome.

    I’m glad that everything went well and that you got a job that you are interested in.

    :sigh: I’m going to have to take a class or something about sign language. I’m already forgetting what you taught me about the alphabet. I’d have to convince someone else to learn with me so that I could have someone to practice it with though.

    I had a dream about learning sign language actually. In it I convinced you to make videos once a week or once every two weeks or something showing specific stuff and then I would practice and send a video back of what I’ve learned. I woke up trying to figure out if you have a web cam and the probability of you receiving a random present sometime soon. It was a weird dreaming to non dreaming transition.

    Anyways, <3 you. I'm glad you had a good day. :)

    • Hahaha, here’s the thing, I don’t know ASL. Don’t. I know sign. But the grammar’s all wrong. Or at least, not consistent. I could make you some nice, private tapes. Or we could set up web cam dates and mute our computers.

      Or, and I like this one best, you could MOVE UP HERE and I’ll talk to you AS MUCH AS YOU WANT in person!!!

      Pleeeeeeeeease? Desperate :'(

  2. Hey Darl,

    I’m SOO glad for you that you did well, and that you are HAPPY about it!

    You have been in my thoughts and I was pulling for you, hoping that you would rock and at the same time enjoy yourself.

    Good for you Honey!

    Mwah x x x

  3. You are such an amazing person. I gotta tell ya. I’m so glad you finally get to leave the job that is pulling so much life outta you and can do the things you truly love. You are so lucky to be able to do these things and it’s so nice to see you’re not taking them for granted :)

  4. Glad to hear it was an awesome day. And I hope you find that peace in yourself and your life that you are looking for.

    Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

