TGIF!

Let’s just jump right into the memes!

Dear AT&T,

Please get your act together. I understand you get a lot of customers because you have a lock on the iPhone, but I would appreciate some other alternatives. Other good alternatives, to clarify. You say you have good phones coming out “soon,” but you keep being behind the game. Verizon already offers the Palm Pre Plus, you still haven’t given a release date. And theirs is  20% the price of yours. The HTC Droid Incredible is billed as the replacement for the HTC Desire. The Incredible is available on Verizon in less than two weeks. You have the rights to the Desire, but no announcement when it’s coming out. Still. Maybe you could try to get ahead of the game, rather than following Verizon on everything except the iPhone. I would like one of these:

Pronto. kthnxbye

Your annoyed customer

P.S. I know I was previously waiting on the Palm Pre Plus to come out. You guys got so behind the ball on that, it looks like Palm might fold before you even release the phone! I’d prefer a phone with updates for the next two years. But thanks anyway.

***********************************************************************

Dear Glee,

You are awesome. Thank you for coming back. I missed you so much. Sue’s cutting insults. Rachel’s craziness.  Your ability to take songs I hate and perform them so well I subsequently love them. I don’t know how I lived without you.

And thank you for tossing in an insult for Sarah Palin. Really. Made my night.

Don’t go anywhere…I’ll be stalking watching you!

Your ardent fan

***********************************************************************

Dear favorite student,

I had a bunch of fun fixing your truck on Wednesday night. I know you were freaking out when neither door would latch, but poking around and getting greasy was a good time, and there’s nothing like the feeling of figuring it out! I also appreciate that before I even did that, you volunteered yourself and your hubby to come and install my tie-off points for me. You are just too awesome. So glad I met you! As you’ve pointed out, it’s fun to know someone as dog-crazy as myself, who can happily spend 2 hours at the dog beach without noticing :-)

Your trainer/friend

***********************************************************************

Dear weekend,

Please don’t kill me. I realize I’ll be out working from 8:30 to 3:30 on Saturday, and then from about 1:45-the end of time Sunday, but they’re all jobs I love, interpreting and training! I’m thrilled business is growing, and I’m not going to ask it to wait a couple weeks, so if you could be merciful I’d appreciate it.

Nervous but excited entrepreneur

***********************************************************************

Dear eyeballs,

Stop hurting. Seriously. I know I’ve been staring at screens non-stop and forgetting to blink, but come on. This ache is painful. I’ve never had my actual eyeballs hurt. I’m not quite sure what to do about it.

The Brain

***********************************************************************

Man, y’all are right! I AM getting more positive! An end in sight is amazing. People here try to guilt me, and I don’t even care. Awesome. This “happiness” is foreign…but appreciated!

OK, trying something new this week from Keeping Up with Kelly & Co:

Join in the Friday Fun by posting anything that made you smile, laugh, or giggle this week— a story, a picture, a video, a website. After a long work week, what could be better than a Friday Funny?? (okay, happy hour probably, but still!) Even if I only ever have a few posts– like I used to tell my students, “What you have is more than you had before” :-) Why not pass on the smiles?

First up, my favorite student and her dog have been working on play-dead. They learned this kind of round-about. At first they didn’t want to learn it, so they just taught lay down as one cue, and then roll on your side as another, separate cue (“Are you so tired?”). Then she decided she wanted to be able to “shoot” her dog. So we mini-back-chained them together (Back chaining: starting at the end and adding previous steps. This way the dog always does the hard part first, and finishes with what they know). She told her dog to do one, then the other, time after time in a row. Then she asked for a “down” and waited. After a second, the dog, who knew the pattern they’d been doing, rolled onto her side. Woohoo! She worked on this all last week, getting the trick into a smooth collapsing motion to one side. So this week we touched on that, then tried to work on other things. But every single time she stopped moving and looked at her dog, her dog collapsed onto her side, complete with flopping her head on the ground, and waited. She was having so much fun with that cue! We just kept laughing, because her dog is really adorable as she collapses on the ground and holds stock still, and her spontaneous death amused us.

Maybe you had to be there.

This news spot also made me laugh. Repeatedly. A lot. Fair warning: it’s political and teasing FOX news. And also hilarious. Don’t drink anything while you watch. “It turns out it’s worse than we thought. The people in the white house are not secret muslims – they’re nerds.” *giggle*

::UPDATE:: One more. I published, and instantly came across this. It is impossible not to smile :-)

Evidently Kelly doesn’t often get a lot of people participating in this meme, but how fun is it? I mean, OK, maybe mine weren’t that funny because I wasn’t storing funny happenings for this Friday, but still, awesome meme!

All right, and I think we’re leaving it at that. I don’t really need a Happy Hour this week, ’cause I’m already pretty happy! I mean, not that it’s not fun anyway, but I am supposed to be working…so for that reason I’m gonna skip past any of the other memes.

As always, click on the buttons to play along!

Join in the Friday Fun by posting anything that made you smile, laugh, or giggle this week— a story, a picture, a video, a website. After a long work week, what could be better than a Friday Funny?? (okay, happy hour probably, but still!) Even if I only ever have a few posts– like I used to tell my students, “What you have is more than you had before” :-) Why not pass on the smiles?
6 Comments

Filed under Dear So and So..., Friday Funny

6 responses to “TGIF!

  1. Thanks for playing along!! :-) You’re right, I only get a handful each week from my followers, yet I still love it because like I say, a few smiles are always better than just one!!

    You should record your student’s dog playing dead and post the video. That would be hilarious. And how funny is the dog with the ipad?? Corgies are my favorite puppy, so I loved the video!

    • Absolutely, it looks like a fun one! I’ll try to keep an eye out for funny happenings in the future :-)

      He, I hesitate to make videos of my students, because they tend to be a wee bit self-conscious :-) I might ask her permission some time, though, we shall see! I absolutely love her dog to death, and I’ll actually be watching her in July…hmm…must record her amazingness then if not sooner!

      Corgis are one of my bestest bud’s favorites, too! So now they make me smile ’cause they make me think of her!

      Thanks for such a fun meme :-D

  2. Loving that Glee is finally back on as well. And that ‘Vogue’ skit??? Classic.

  3. C

    Love your writing. I love my dogs, too! Kindred spirits?? I’ll see you again soon. C

  4. I’m so happy that YOU’RE so happy! It really sounds like you’re on top of the world. Have a great weekend!!

  5. Dear Work: Is it almost June yet?

Leave a Reply

