Still alive

I’m still alive. Promise. Was gone all weekend, got back to insanity + exhaustion, blogging has taken the hit. But I’m here and good!

************************************************************************

Saying “still alive” reminded me of this:

Such an awesome song. Even better if you’ve played Portal. It’s an fun little thinking/puzzle game, like 10 hours to beat the whole game, I recommend it. And “Still Alive” is available free for Rock Band! No need to thank me for all these hints.

************************************************************************

My crabbing trip was lots ‘o’ fun! I’ll do a full post on it later, but in summary, Toby is a mighty crab hunter and even if you’re cold you can get a mean sunburn if the sun is out. We came back with 10 crabs for my coworker.

************************************************************************

On a related note, if your face gets horribly sunburned, don’t wear hot pink to work the next day. On the upside, I was color-coordinated!

************************************************************************

Remember that job I wasn’t going to take because it was too many hours and at too small a company? Just took it. Oh yeah. Such a feeling of peace and happiness and everything being settled when I called and accepted! They clearly really wanted me, because I called to decline and they changed the offer and were flexible for me. I’ll be working 12-15 hours a week, with a set schedule for each quarter so I can plan training/classes without constant worry about conflict. The pay isn’t great, but it wouldn’t be for any part time job I’m “qualified” for. It’s close to home, a fun place, the hours are right, the scheduling is right, and I’m happy. Plus they’re willing to wait until May 10th to start me, so I get a week off! This is the first time I’ve ever felt in power in negotiations, I always feel guilty asking for things (like not starting the VERY DAY I’m done with my current job), but this time I knew they wanted me and that made me feel good! Yay confidence! Yay job! Yay future not being (so much) up in the air!

************************************************************************

One thing I will not miss is rush hour traffic. My new job is 10 minutes away. Right by Companions. All surface streets. Non-rush-hour hours. Yesterday it took me for.e.ver to get to work. The 10 minute trip to my bus (not even my office) took over 40 minutes. Boooo!

************************************************************************

Peanut’s Pals is having its grand opening this weekend. If you live in Snohomish county you should come by! It’s complete with raffles, treats, and fun activities!

************************************************************************

I should really be working right now.

************************************************************************

People are starting to learn about me leaving my job. One coworker just came up all sad to talk with me and say goodbye (she’d just heard). It was really sweet. 5 weeks ago it would have made me cry, because leaving was such a hard decision to make. I thought it would get harder as it became more real. Not so much. I’m having a hard time keeping the glee off my face as I talk with these well-wishers! This is SO the right decision. Thank you, hubby, for being OK with the major hit in our income.

************************************************************************

Speaking of glee….GLEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I <3 Tuesday nights.

************************************************************************

Speaking of random, click the button to play along over at the UnMom’s!

3 Comments

Filed under Random Thoughts Tuesday, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Still alive

  1. I’m glad you had fun crabbing…I can’t wait to hear all about it! I bet it was amazing. And good for you for taking control of those negotiations and really making this the job you wanted and not just the job you needed. Way to go!

  2. I’m glad you were able to make the new job work, hooray!!

    How much time do you have left? About a week? I wish I could go the grand opening, but it’s just to far for me, oh well.

Leave a Reply

