Writer’s Workshop: Tattoo

I have moved! I am now blogging at The Energizer Mommy. Please come join me there!

Time for another episode of Writer’s Workshop, hosted by the lovely and talented Mama Kat! ::applause::

Here’s the prompt I chose:

4.) The world is going to come to an end unless you get a tattoo that covers your entire back. Describe the tattoo you’ll get.

I chose this prompt because it’s easy. Here’s the tattoo I’d get:

It’s the marque from the Kushiel series. Phedre’s marque. And while I am in no way chosen by Kushiel, having Joscelin would be quite nice…mmmm…

Oh, did I say that aloud? Oops.

Anyway. The marque definitely fits the criteria. It starts at the base of the spine and curls upwards, all the way to the finnial at the base of the neck. Those who serve Naamah earn their marques through patron gifts. The above is the marque from the cover of the books, but it in no way does justice to the delicious description detailed in the book. Phedre’s marque is described as all black, in nice contrast to her pale skin, except where there are little drops of crimson for blood. It is a briar rose wrapping its way up her back to the finnial at the top. Some people get a bit more artistic.

While some stay truer to the image on the cover

But I think they’re all gorgeous. In part, I’ve never been a big tattoo fan, but in this world marques are so beautiful. I’ve heard this one described with so much respect and admiration over and over and it’s really sunk in how ink in your skin can be beautiful, and I think this is a gorgeous representation.

(All of the above tattoos are from here.)

If not that, then maybe something else nerdy, like  , except in cooler font. I mean, come on, is that not the coolest equation you’ve ever seen? All of math’s coolest numbers in one beautiful line. Or maybe a line of binary going down my spine. I have seen a woman who has this (though I can’t find it! grrr…) and it was damn sexy.

How ’bout you? Go to Mama Kat’s to play along, there are even 4 other prompts to pick from if this one doesn’t strike your fancy!

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Writer's Workshop

8 responses to “Writer’s Workshop: Tattoo

  1. I will probably never get one but, I definitely appreciate the beauty of a tattoo:) The ones above are really beautiful. I would do an airbrush they are cool and don’t hurt, guess I’m a little chicken:) Stopping by from Mama Kat’s!

    • I should clarify: I cannot imagine ever getting a tattoo of any sort! I mean, unless the world was going to end. Then maybe. Needles are scary, and the permanence is not my friend…

  2. Thanks for stopping by. I love this book series and I love her tattoo. I want the world tree that will be on my back to be styled about this marque.

  3. Hi Sweet Thing!

    I stopped in for a sec yesterday but didn’t get a chance to comment. And now I’m back to comment and your beautiful pictures are gone! :(

    ANYWAY!

    What I was planning to say is… Drum Roll…

    I have finished Kushiels Dart. *hold for applause*

    LOVED IT, LOVED IT, LOVED IT, LOVED IT, LOVED IT!!!

    Thank you so much for recommending it to me. I am starting Kushiels Chosen tonight. I can’t wait to see what Phedre does!

    I must admit I had a rocky start. The first few chapters were hard going. It’s SUCH a vast World with so many characters in it, I was finding it difficult to follow along at first. And the politics were a tad confusing. I kept referring back to the ‘Cast’ pages at the front of the book, and that was helping. But I started to get carried along with the story, and before I realised it, I was swept up in it.

    Phedre is a wonderful heroine, and Joscelin is dreamy. OH! And I cried for Prince Baudoin, and Delaunay, and Alcuin, and Hyacinthe, and Eamon and… (Hmm… All men…)

    Well I could go on, but I won’t. I’m just going to get off the PC, grab a cuppa, and settle in bed with Chosen.

    Night!

    P.S. I would totally get Phedre’s marque if I wasn’t already covered in tatts. (And if it would get me Jocelin…)

    P.P.S. (And yes, I am aware I rave ridiculously loud and exuberantly about books I really enjoy.)

    • Hey, what happened to the pics??? >:( Must look into this…

      So glad you liked it!!!! I had the same rocky start, the first pages had me captivated, but then it kept going…and it is SO DENSE it takes awhile to get pulled in. But then…you just ARE! I have read the whole thing through I think 3 times now, and each time I understand what was happening better, lol.

      Hope you keep enjoying it, imo each of the three books is better than the last. Same with the follow up trilogy (which you should totally read…but not look into yet :-)

      Isn’t Phedre’s marque gorgeous? The description in the book more so than what’s on the cover, but what’s on the cover has become iconic. But heck, I’d get any tattoo if it would get me Jocelin…

      This is not ridiculously loud and exuberant. Trust me. :-D Plus, look! You made me smile!

      • Sorry I haven’t replied Darl, it’s been a hectic week. I have LOTS of birthdays in May to organise. Mine on the 2nd, Tomika’s 13th on the 8th, Mothers Day on the 9th, my Cuz’z 35th on the 10th, my friend’s 25th on the 15th. So a LONG month…

        *deep breath* Okay!

        I know what you mean. I’m really enjoying Chosen, but I have in the back of my mind that I can’t wait to read Dart again because I’ll take in much more than I did the first time.

        I even considered reading it again BEFORE I started Chosen, just to make sure I understood all of the intricacies of it, and then moving onto Chosen and Avatar. But I decided not to because for one, I didn’t want to over-expose myself and risk not wanting to read the series again, and two, I couldn’t wait to see what happened!

        I love Phedre’s marque. I’m like you though, I prefer the description to the picture they have on the books. Come to think of it, I wonder who designed the picture for the covers? Although, I must say, that last pic you have, the one that is pretty much the design from the cover… That’s absolutely gorgeous.

        I can see we agree on Jocelin, however, I believe I win by default as you are already married! *sticks tongue out in extremely childish gesture* Lol! :-D

        And I’m so glad I made you smile!

        OH, and the pics are back, it must have been what you said!

    • Oh wait…now the pics are there. It just takes awhile for them to load, apparently… huh. Well if you really want to see some craziness, click on the source link ;-)

  4. Damn! Those tats are killer. You should soooooooo get one. Puts my measly little girly butterflies and flowers to shame.

Leave a Reply

