Friday Fatties

OK, I’ve been trying to lose weight for..well…a couple years now. Unfortunately, I like food and being lazy more than I like looking good. At least in the moment the food is in front of my face. mmmm….food.

ANYWAY.

I was over at Christie’s blog and saw this fun smart new meme and figured, if I can sit and wish to myself I lost weight…while absentmindedly eating smarties (this example is from an hour ago, it’s not like such things are rare), clearly what I’m doing isn’t working. Desire isn’t working, feeling fat isn’t working, not having clothes that fit isn’t working…

Maybe some public humiliation will work!

So I bring you: Friday Fatties

Hosted by the newly discovered and hilarious Pamela over at 2 much testosterone.

In short, we post our weight up…and every Friday…post our weight. IN THEORY this will be a string of decreasing numbers. I like theory. It is my friend. We shall see if reality is, too.

So here we go, my 5’4″ (when I stretch) self is…….139.5 pounds.

I know, I know, not that bad…but I used to be in the 120 range. For a long time. And then I got older..and my metabolism slowed…and the weight started creeping up. And now I don’t look like me to myself, and none of my clothes fit, and I hate it! Argh!

On the up side, it is nice to have boobs. When I was skinny they disappeared when I laid on my back. Schloop! back into my chest! I mean, heck, now I can fill an A cup!

Also, to clarify, I have my mom’s body shape (hi, mom!). Aaaaaall of the weight is carried at the waist. So gaining some looks like gaining a lot.

ANYWAY, I would like to get back down into the 120s. Say 125. We won’t go all the way to 120…but 125 is doable. In theory. Again, with the friendly theory.

I will no longer be working as of 1 hour from now (unlike how I am this moment). I shall try to turn that to a healthier lifestyle ASAP. Get in the healthy routine! And then stay there!

*snort*

Anyway, more home cooking what with more time, more going on walks with the dog what with more time/sunlight, more using the very nice (and expensive) elliptical we bought what with it being right in front of the TV and all, more not-sitting-on-my-ass-all day what with the I’m determined…you see how it goes. Going to make something happen, here!

In theory.

Hopefully this will help me get back to a body shape I like (preferably before I end up pregnant and it all goes to hell anyway). Hopefully it will help me sleep better. Hopefully it will help me be less fatigue-y all.the.time. Hopefully.

So go over and play along! Or just leave me a number in the comments. I’m hoping eventually there’s a Mr. Linky for this, ’cause I’d love to follow other people’s progress, and shamelessly beg for encouragement of my own…we’ll see how long I can keep up the posting. Public humiliation worked with the pedometer, though, got me walking! I owe it all to you friendly people in my computer.

And with that, I’m back to organizing everything I’ve done in the past two years, so that other people can find it when I’m gone. *sniff* Last day feels kind of like a funeral, I’m learning how much everyone here likes me. What with both my boss and the head of the company telling me I’m welcome back any time, along with several other managers. Makes it hard to leave when I realize how appreciated I am and how awesome my coworkers are. But I keep reminding myself, this is the right decision.

Don’t mind that ripping sound. It’s just me tearing away a large chunk of my identity.

4 Comments

Filed under Friday Fatties, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Friday Fatties

  1. Good for you for being accountable!

    I begged off this week, I want cake for my birthday, but I’m joining in next week for sure.

    Mwah x x x

    P.S. I hope your last day went well Sweetie. I was thinking of you. x

  2. Yeah! I’m so happy you are joining my fat ass! Can you believe I actually posted my wieght. Gulp. I was totally honest and didn’t fudge or anything. And YOU did too. It’s kinda liberating and terrifying and I’m glad your will be here to cheer along!

  3. Wow, you are one brave woman! I’ve been watching what I eat too (watching it go right into my mouth…). Okay, seriously, though, I’m getting back on track too!

    You can do this!

  4. Erica

    Hi Sweetie,

    Good job for starting up with this. Nothing like a good dose of humiliation to get a person motivated.

    I’ve been trying to watch my weight as well. I can tell my metabolism is dying and it’s really starting to bug me.

    I will try to play along but I kinda lack in a scale of some kind. I will tell you that last time couple of times I weighed myself I was between 133 and 140. I want to be around 130 or 125 as well. We can work on this together. :D

    <3

Leave a Reply

