Thank you, mommy

Thank you, mommy, for never letting me doubt that I am loved.

Thank you, mommy, for telling me to suck it up and stop feeling sorry for myself when I needed to hear it (often).

Thank you, mommy, for listening, even while I was being completely irrational.

Thank you, mommy, for never letting me be ashamed of who I am.

Thank you, mommy, for teaching me that some things are facts, and all I can control is how I react to them.

Thank you, mommy, for teaching me to respect authority….but then going in and fixing the problems at school I was complaining about without me knowing.

Thank you, mommy, for always fighting for what I needed.

Thank you, mommy, for never giving me an inflated-sense of self-importance with that fighting.

Thank you, mommy, for saying, “Life isn’t fair,” and “Well I’m meaner than [friend’s mom/teacher/babysitter]” rather than giving in to me.

Thank you, mommy, for always supporting me…even when that meant telling me things I didn’t want to hear.

Thank you, mommy, for never saying, “I told you so,” even though you had ample opportunity.

Thank you, mommy, for never letting me think I was the most important person in the world, but always making sure I knew I was one of the most important people in your world.

Thank you, mommy, for all the thankless jobs you have done for me my whole life.

I love you!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Thank you, mommy

  1. You have much to be thankful for. Lovely tribute.

  2. OMgoodness, this is SO sweet! I hope, someday when my kids are older, I’ll receive a thank you very similar to yours!

Leave a Reply

