I’m home on a Friday!

Why hello loyal bloggy readers! I’m finally home again on a Friday! It’s been awhile, the last two I was travelling, so I need to get back on the meme wagon.

First, lets talk about the one I don’t want to talk about:

OK, here we go:

Starting weight: 139.5 lb

Last week: 140.0 lb

This morning: 140.0 lb

Change from last week: 0 lb

Change from start: we’re not going there!

*sigh* I’ve been in the 139 area all week, but this morning, of course, the scale would not cooperate! It doesn’t help that yesterday was my birthday! so I totally overate at the amazing dinner that my hubby took me out to…and then the free caramel Sundae…and then the candy at the movie…*cough*

But things are going to get better now! Because do you know what arrived on my doorstep yesterday? My shiny new Wii Fit Plus! Holy crap it’s fun! I mean, not in a “Oh look, it’s a game!” kind of way, but definitely fun for a workout. And it appeals to all the obsessively-goal-oriented and competitive sides in me, what with all the little enticers. Things like the chart on the front that maps your BMI. Or how you stamp each day you check in. Or how your little time bank grows and changes as you work out more. Or how every. Single. Exercise/game has a leader board of scores! Seriously, last night the hubby and I plugged it in, and after we both did our set-up he opened a game. And instantly it was on. I refused to let him go to bed until I played every game he had played. So I could kick his ass we could compare. Yeah. It’s fun. I’m trying to play it little enough that it stays fun, instead of going nuts and burning out. But man. Fun. :-D

There, see how I smoothly transitioned us OFF of the topic of my weight? Yup. I’m good like that.

Up next.

Dear dysthemia-

Thanks for cutting me some slack! It’s been nice, I feel good today! I even felt good yesterday! Which was nice, what with it being my birthday and all, and what with it not being a day full of super fun things (not that you weren’t fun, refrigerator repair man!). Maybe I can deal with you without meds!

Your biggest anti-fan

***********************************************************************

Dear Toby-

I love you. So much. You are such a good, good boy. Thank you for helping me get through the hard early part of this week. It never ceases to amaze me how I can be spiraling down, and you either respond to my cue for help instantly, or sense what I need, and become the only thing that can pull me back up so I can get in control. Love you, baby!

your mommy

PS So sorry to nick your eyelid the other night while trimming your face/eyelashes! Thank you for being such a good boy and not freaking out, and even letting me finish trimming! I promise to be more careful in the future. *cuddle*

***********************************************************************

Dear new job-

I love working at you! I’m learning so much about health and nutrition…granted, it’s for animals, but the same basic principals apply to us! I mean, not the eat lots of protein and carbs are useless, but the meet your needs and your entire health/behavior will improve! I have seen the amazing change in my dog, going from a diet of Wellness (pretty high quality but with grain) to a half-and-half diet of Wellness and Acana (high quality grain-free) mixed with a tiny bit of wet food to spoil him. His plaque has disappeared. His energy level is higher, but in a good non-manic way. He’s softer. He’s just healthier. I can’t wait until the Wellness I have is gone and to see what happens when we go to a full Acana diet!

Makes me think maybe I should try it for me. New goal: Find a primary care physician who is more holistic, instead of just checking off a list of individual, separate symptoms, and assigning a drug for each, or telling me I’m “within normal levels” on each individual thing when the whole is not right.

Thanks for opening my eyes!

Your employee

***********************************************************************

Dear Wii Fit-

Thanks for rocking my socks off!

The soon to be fit-ter me!

***********************************************************************

Dear hubby-

Thanks for such a wonderful birthday. I had an awesome time with you last night. A really, really AWESOME time. You are the bestest hubby ever, and I am so lucky :-)

your wifey

***********************************************************************

OK, I think that’ll do for now.

Next up:

1. What do you think makes a good friend, or friendship?

Not being overly-pushy. Seriously, I really get annoyed with people who can’t take a hint and who keep pushing to have more and more and more time together. Let me enjoy the time we had, stop pushing for the next time! Everyone should be able to spend some time alone without freaking!

Can you tell I’ve had issues with this? In other people, not me. No, really! I err on the side of hiding in my home.

Otherwise, it’s mainly who I can relax and hang out with. Being non-judgmental of everyday things. Someone I can talk to and know that when I leave they won’t be gossiping about me. I am hard on friends. I have very few I’m really comfortable with. I <3 my bestest buds and can’t wait to see them again!

Which reminds me of my last criteria: Live near me. (Hint hint Erica!)

2. What is the last thing you bought & later regretted?

How ’bout the last thing I returned and later regretted? As I’ve mentioned, I have a thing about books. I like owning the copy I read. But I also like them all to match. Well, my friend has me reading The Dresden Files. It’s OK, I’m not a huge fan, but they’re fun. Well, I was going on a trip and I needed the next one in the series, so I bought it at the airport bookstore, even though it was a weird-sized paperback. You know the ones where they’re too tall but the right width for a standard paperback? What is up with those?? So odd! Anyway, I wanted the right dimensions, and I’m not really attached to these books, so I had my hubby return it yesterday, assuming I could find the right size somewhere. Now, however, I’m realizing I can’t find it anywhere, even online! Argh! So if I have to have an oversized copy, I at least want my oversized copy! I’ll have to swing by and see if they still have it. :-P

As for buying things…I never regret buying things! Oh wait, I know, a Victoria’s Secret bra! I was with my mom and we went and had a great fitter, who totally understood women who don’t have much of a chest at all, and recommended good bras and how to fit. So I bought one. But then I got home, and realized the one I bought didn’t fit quite right. So I need to return it. Except my mom bought it and I paid her back with a check, so she could get the points. So I’m not sure if I can return it. Hmm, I should try. :-P

3. Have you ever had a prank played on you?

No. My hubby takes good care of me, and makes sure people know not to do this. I couldn’t really handle it. The closest I’ve had is when I worked in a cleanroom for a summer job. I was an engineering intern, so I was in and out of the fab (cleanroom). One of my fab coworkers went around and told everyone one of my legs was shorter than the other. You know, the classic Eileen = I-lean joke? Except he didn’t tell it as a joke. He told it as a fact. Soon everyone around me believed it, and it took me awhile to catch on. Subtlest play on my name ever, it amused me :-)

4. What is your favorite theme park?

Not really a theme park kinda girl…heat + crowds = bleh. I did thoroughly enjoy Ocean Park in Hong Kong! Combination aquarium and theme park, that was a lot of fun. Dolphin shows, fun rides, cool jellyfish aquarium, it was just a good time!

5. Have you ever seen someone else give birth?

Not unless “A Baby Story” counts! I’m kind of curious about it. What with me getting more and more ready to go through it and all. It’s crazy how birth is now-a-days, from what I see. They are so involved. Thus far every episode I’ve seen ends in c-section. Even the ones that try for a “natural” birth with “no drugs” have used pitocin to speed up labor. Here this woman is dilated, so they’re about to break her water for her. What the heck? What ever happened to just letting it happen? I don’t want a home birth, because if something does go wrong I want to be right where I need to be, and I have no problem using pain meds, but I don’t understand how managed it all is anymore. I don’t want to pick my baby’s birthday ahead of or right on the due date so they don’t “get to big.” My brother and I were both 2 weeks late. It didn’t used to be a big deal. It’s like the facebook group says: “It’s a due date, not an expiration date!” So we shall see how my own goes, but I anticipate some arguments in my future. One thing I’ve learned from all my experiences: don’t just trust the “experts.” They’re just people doing their job like the rest of us. Pushing back is not bad.

So that’s it! To play along with any of the memes, just click on the buttons.

1 Comment

Filed under Dear So and So..., Five Question Friday, Friday Fatties

One response to “I’m home on a Friday!

  1. Very interesting, gonna check out 5 questions Friday. I totally get the dear “disease” letter…I’m with ya!

    Susan

Leave a Reply

