Heaven on earth

It’s time for another round of Writer’s Workshop!

The prompt I’ve chosen for this week:

4.) Post a picture and a description that fits into this quote for you: “How far to heaven? Just open your eyes and look. You are in heaven” -Shankar

This is me on my honeymoon in Jamaica.

Best two weeks ever.

We were surrounded by paradise. We stayed at an all-inclusive resort, in a beautiful room, on a beautiful beach. We didn’t have to think. Bored? Do one of dozens of free activities or go to one of the dozens of places to hang out. Hungry? Pick the restaurant or snack shack you feel like. No need to worry about price, not too many options. My new hubby would run down in the morning and get a selection of breakfast items. When I got up (because he was sweet enough to let me sleep in) we’d have breakfast in bed together. Then we’d decide what to do for the day. Go scuba diving? Take out a boat? Sit in the room and kick my hubby’s ass play games? One of my absolute favorite activities is pictured above: pulling a beach chair into the surf and reading in the sun.

The sun kept me warm. The water kept me cool. Together they were the perfect temperature. I have always loved drawing baths and reading, and this was the perfect bath which never got cold or warm. I usually hate the sun, because I hate being hot and my skin is a lovely shade of neon white which turns a lovely shade of lobster red in the sun. But the water kept me exactly right. Heaven. With my new hubby hanging out with me, bringing me drinks, happy himself, and not a care in the world, this was heaven.

Not to mention all the joys of exploring each other :-D

I spent two weeks in heaven. And I loved every minute of it!

15 Comments

Filed under Writer's Workshop

15 responses to “Heaven on earth

  1. That sounds SO amazing! Wish I was there now!

  2. Wow, I can just feel the relaxation from reading about your honeymoon! Makes me want to go lie out in the sun right now…in the ocean waves, of course! Too bad I live a thousand miles from any ocean… :-)

  3. That looks perfect!!!

  4. We honeymooned in Jamaica 25 years ago and it was wonderful! Definetely 1 week of pure heaven-ness!

  5. Heaven, indeed! Sun, Jamaica, new hubby….seriously perfect!

  6. That looks like the absolute BEST way ever to read a book : ) I agree. Books are heaven for me as well! : )

  7. …”a lovely shade of neon white which turns a lovely shade of lobster red in the sun” _ sounds exactly like me. People never understand why I don’t LOVE the beach?!? Your honeymoon sounded like perfection though;)

  8. What I wouldn’t do to be in Jamaica right now. Or ever. Or anywhere with relaxing possibilities. I need a vacation badly! Looks like you had a blast.

  9. Love it! I so need a vacation like that — thanks for the inspiration!

  10. Man I want to be there right now. That looks perfect!!! Where did you stay? I’m trying to talk the bf in a trip soon.

  11. Mommylebron

    My stress level dropped 5 degrees after reading your post! I would love to be on a beach with a book. I mean my husband. No, I really mean a book!
    Stopping by from Mama Kat’s!
    http://mommylebron.wordpress.com

  12. You just really made me long for the beach. I looove the beach, and even that is an understatement. Must of been interesting “exploring each other” LOL

  13. Yes, I can see why Jamaica is heaven even though I’ve never been. What a lovely picture of you just soaking up the sun and water. Memories always to cherish!
    Saw you at Mama Kats and so glad I did.

  14. you are, indeed, in heaven.

    from mama kat’s :)

Leave a Reply

