Writer’s Workshop – Take 2!

The prompts this week are so nice I feel the need to answer them twice! Go to Mama Kat‘s to play along, you only have to once ;-)

1.) Write about your wedding song. What was it and why did you choose it?

I love my wedding song. I loved my wedding dance.

If you hadn’t guessed I hate having people staring at me. It’s generally at odds with blending into the wall one of my main general goals in life. So the whole idea of spinning slowly in a circle while some trite song played and I had nothing to think about but their eyes was not popular with me.

So we took dance lessons! We didn’t have anyone choreograph a dance for us, we just learned how to dance. Some basic steps and some fancy additions we could use. And then…we danced. The hubby had parts of it planned in his head…we spun-in-a-circle danced for the intro, then moved into the traditional one-two-three-pause box step…and danced the night away. Or the song away at least. Ending with a beautiful dip (that took lots of practice).

It was beautiful. People cried.

I’m not even shitting you.

I loved it. I forgot all the people staring and just got caught up moving with and following the lead of this wonderful, amazing man who was now mine. Somehow.

The other part I insisted on was picking a song that had meaning to us. That we had a history with. But that we could real-dance to.

Here is what we chose:

Tomorrow morning if you wake up

and the sun does not appear

I will be here.

If in the dark we lose sight of love

hold my hand and have no fear,

’cause I will be here.

I love the affirmation in this song. It’s hard for me to believe one person would actually stay with me forever, through anything.

I will be here

When you feel like being quiet

When you need to speak your mind I will listen

And I will be here

When the laughter turns to crying

Through the living, losing and trying

We’ll be together

I will be here

The hubby introduced me to Steven Curtis Chapman early when we were dating. I still really like his music, even though I’m no longer Christian. His All About Love CD has so much good stuff on it! I love Echoes of Eden…but not quite wedding appropriate. We Will Dance is another great one. But we chose the song we had the most history with.

Tomorrow morning if you wake up

And the future is unclear

I will be here.

Just as sure as seasons were made for change

Our lifetimes were made for these years

So I will be here.

I love the promise of forever. Love it.

I will be here

And you can cry on my shoulder

When the mirror tells us we’re older

I will hold you

And I will be here

To watch you grow in beauty

And tell you all the things you are to me

I will be here.

And for almost two years now, he’s been here. It’s not been all sunshine and roses. But there’s always been sunshine and roses…because he’s been here. (All together now, “Aaaaaaw…*choke* *gag*” What can I say, my blog, my place for corny truths :-)

Love you, hubby.

9 Comments

Filed under Writer's Workshop

9 responses to “Writer’s Workshop – Take 2!

  1. what a beautiful song. TFS

  2. “It was beautiful. People cried.

    I’m not even shitting you.”

    I LOL’d. Thank you for dropping by my blog! And your wedding song is beautiful!

    Have a fantastic day!

  3. I remember that. It was beautiful. You were beautiful. And you two were just so happy. :D It was a great first dance and I’m glad that that special feeling has carried on throughout your marriage. :D

  4. Awww!
    Love that story! :) Glad you wrote about it. I, too, love that song.

  5. Beautiful song, haven’t heard this before. Your comment about no longer being a Christian threw me for a loop though–Christianity is forever. It’s not something you turn on and off.

    Visiting from Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop.

  6. I love that song! Always have! Love your story!

    Thanks for dropping by my blog!

  7. I love that song! I have always thought it was a perfect song for a wedding.

  8. mommylebron

    A great song and a sweet post! Thanks for coming by my blog! I look forward to reading more!

  9. Aww, what a sweet post and the song is beautiful too! I’m going to check out this cd you mentioned. I’m a sucker for romantic songs :)

    Thanks for stopping by my blog :)

Leave a Reply

