My newest crush

Parker’s arrival has gone smoother than I could have dreamed….except for one small giant thing.

Toby’s bathroom habits have slipped.

I think it’s a combination of me being gone/busy more and more, and stress from having Parker around, but Toby has started using my library, and the hall outside of it, as a bathroom. Not a lot, and mainly when we either don’t notice he wants to go out or he’s home alone and can’t go out, but enough that it’s driving.me.crazy!

Especially since that is also our guest room.

Now, as a dog trainer, I know there are things I can do. But, as I always tell my clients, there is no magic bullet for housebreaking. It is the single most unnatural thing we teach our dogs to do. And the only way to teach it is to put in a lot of work.

I’m trying to decide exactly what I want to do. But one thing has to happen.

The carpet has to get clean.

If it smells like urine, it is a bathroom. And I can’t blame him for peeing there when all signs say it’s a bathroom!

Even when he was housetraining, there weren’t many accidents, and I kept up with them with Nature’s Miracle and elbow-grease. But now, there are more stains, and I’m having a harder time keeping up, or catching back up to neutral! Also, the stains tend to be more set-in, since I’m not keeping such an eye on him and noticing instantly (which is one thing I could do, yes.)

Which brings me to my new crush:

The Bissel Little Green Multi-Purpose Compact Earth-Friendly Deep Cleaner.

I remember having a spot carpet cleaner as a kid. And it. was. amazing.

I want one.

Anyone have one? Any advice on types/brands/styles? Think they’re a waste of money? I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

