RTT: Puppies and Spiders and Signing, oh my!

It’s time to get our random on!!

I’m writing this post first thing in the morning! You know, it’s morning with how my day is going. Since I just got up. Ignore the clock that says “4:46.”

***********************************************************************

Last night the puppy swallowed a big piece of chew, freaking me out, since it could block his intestines and require surgery. He was whimpering, coughing, gagging, and throwing up..but not being able to get more than bile around the obstruction. *facepalm* So I stayed up to keep an eye on him. Til he was breathing easily. Around 2AM. Then, this morning, someone called and woke me up at 10. I mean, come on, people! That’s the crack of dawn! We all know 8 hours isn’t enough for me, so I was exhausted. Got out of bed around noon when I accepted I wasn’t sleeping anymore. Went back to bed at 1. Just got up again at 4. So, hey, good morning, everyone!

***********************************************************************

What did I do when I got up bright and early? (Well, it’s bright…) Went out to pick fruit in my garden! Got jalepenos, tomatoes, and a couple mini pumpkins! Eeeee! Halloween decorations!

I would have gotten more..but there are GIANT FREAKING SPIDERS EVERYWHERE! Spiders are scary. I freaking hate them. I realize it’s ridiculous, and I stand there trying to tell myself that a little web strand (or GIANT FREAKING SPIDER) isn’t going to hurt me. And just can’t bring myself to cross them. *shudder*

I must plan my garden next year to be spider-free. I have a bunch of tall plants on opposite side of my walkway, which means it is now a stand-and-cower way. Next year: better planning!

***********************************************************************

I am almost done with my current book series, and excited to start Room, next! I hadn’t been reading for several weeks until I got into this series, so it feels really good to be back into it!

***********************************************************************

If only I had a bathtub to read in. I have been really missing my tub soaks!

***********************************************************************

Oh hospital deliveries. I’m watching A Baby Story (I have a problem) and the poor woman is fully dialated and DESPERATE to push. The nurse says, “You can’t push, because if you push without the doctor here, you’ll deliver without the doctor here. He’s at home. It’ll be about 10 minutes.” WHAT THE HELL IS HE DOING AT HOME?? Yeah, I’m thinking a midwife who stays with you the whole freaking labor so when you’re ready to go you can go sounds reeeally good.

I also love that when he finally arrived and she wanted to keep pushing, he yelled at her to stop, and then he pulled out the shoulders himself with no help from her while she cried out in pain (she’d been good thus far). Um..you know, if the baby’s head came with one push, why not just let her push the baby out? *sigh*

***********************************************************************

What am I going to make for dinner? Last night I made a really shitty version of baked mac and cheese with no actual cheese in it (I didn’t realize til it was made). I was just looking for a recipe I didn’t have to go to the store for. I hate throwing out food..but this has no nutritional value, so there’s no reason to keep it.  So now, no leftovers, gotta cook again. Boo, store run.

***********************************************************************

I really want to learn ASL. I have the vocab (I know sign language), but not the grammar. I’m just not sure how to go about it. I want structure, but going through an ITP (interpreter training program) is not for me because 1) it’s expensive 2) they assume you’re starting from nothing and will go over a lot that I know, and 3) it’s expensive. So trying to find ways to pick it up. It’s one of those things that’s been in the back of my mind for months, that I’ve been toying with going forward with. It’s moving to the front. I’m just trying to come up with ways I can be exposed to ASL, not just sign language like most hearing people know. Aside from going and mingling with the Deaf community it’s tricky, and we all know how good I am at mingling. Hmmm…

2 Comments

Filed under Life, Random Thoughts Tuesday

2 responses to “RTT: Puppies and Spiders and Signing, oh my!

  1. Oh, I wish I knew more ASL grammar. I feel like an idiot when communicating with the Deaf staff at my son’s school.

    There is a good website, and cheap that I’ve used and like a lot. Pretty sure it is signingonline.com. I did ASL I and started but didn’t finish ASL II.

    • Oh, cool! I looked at the ASL I sample course they let you glance through, did you feel like it was REALLY ASL or pidgin? It looks pidgin-ish, but it’s hard to tell since it’s the first lesson. Maybe they’re just starting super-easy :P Thanks for the link!

      I also went and looked at what Seattle Central Community College, who has a pretty well-respected ASL/ITP setup, uses as textbooks in their ASL classes. Contemplating just buying the books and going through them on my own. One from more advanced classes is done by Galudet and looks AMAZING. http://www.amazon.com/American-Language-Teachers-Resource-Grammar/dp/093032384X#reader_093032384X

Leave a Reply

