A Halloween Resuscitation

Why hello! *listens to echo* Is anyone still out there?

Sorry I have sucked at updating here. I have been ridiculously busy and feeling kinda crummy. But I have been updating more over on Twitter recently (@Thefyziksgirl), so that’s a good place to keep up with me if you want! Halloween is giving me a long weekend, though, so I thought I’d sit back down and brush the dust off this lil ol blog. I promise that starting very soon I will be updating here more regularly.

Last night I went to a wedding with my hubby. It was for two people I don’t really know, but it was the most beautiful wedding I have ever been to. I’m not sure if the couple is Christian or not, but the wedding wasn’t. As such it was incredibly personalized and thus extremely touching.

There were no bible readings. Rather than picking passages from a book full of rape, arranged marriage, and oppression of women, they chose readings from classic literature (which she has a degree in). The readings were perfect, and so unique, causing me to really listen to and feel each line.

There was no sermon of advice for the couple. They have been together for almost a decade and lived together for years. The opening was the closest thing to a “sermon,” with someone welcoming everyone and wishing the couple well before the wedding got started.

The vows exchanged were a blend of the classic lines I have never heard combined in quite that way. The bride cried while saying them.

And then they exchanged rings, kissed, and walked back down the aisle with giant smiles on their faces!

I do not remember my wedding. It was a Catholic wedding, and by that point I was really no longer Catholic. It was an hour long, and I zoned most of it out in order to keep my promise to my mother that I would not make faces during the ceremony when they said things I disagreed with. I honestly have NO IDEA what the priest said in his homily, though evidently he mentioned than my hubby and I had not had sex yet. Thanks, Father. Glad I wasn’t listening. I do remember the short part where I recited my vows and received my ring while staring at the man who was becoming my husband. That part was great.

But I have to say, I admire this couple who shucked off the parts of tradition they did not want while embracing all the parts they did. Their wedding was so perfectly them. And it was beautiful.

I’ll leave this post with a thought for the couple. In the honors program my hubby and I were a part of in college (which was very small, about 20 students per year, and thus close-knit), we had a saying: “If you can’t keep it in your pants, keep it in the program!” This couple was in that program with us, so to them I say, Congratulations on your commitment to keeping it in the program for life!

1 Comment

Filed under Life

One response to “A Halloween Resuscitation

  1. Paolo

    Oh that Father. And yes, he made it very clear to anyone over 12 of yours and your soon-to-be hubby’s sexual status. He said something along the lines of “And it so nice in this day and age to see a couple respect all of tenets love and marriage, including the most difficult ones.”

    Everyone in attendance thought something along the lines of “Awkward….”

Leave a Reply

