These are a few of my favorite things…

Yesterday I got to hear baby’s heartbeat again. Does that ever get old? I don’t think so. Best. Sound. Ever.

~~~~~

Also yesterday, the student midwife went to palpate my abdomen to see how things felt and immediately said, “Hi, baby!” I was kind of surprised, and wondered if she was just commenting on the fact that my uterus is right under the skin(ish). But then after moving up to find the top of my uterus she came back to the bulk of it and said, “There! I can feel baby right here. Hi, baby!” I was so surprised! I had no idea she could already feel the outline of where baby is! She did tell me she couldn’t tell what was what, yet, because baby is still so small. But just her being able to find baby manually made it hit home a little: There’s a baby in there!!!

~~~~~

While I was typing this afternoon with my laptop on my lap my puppy came over, dragged himself across my arms, and fell asleep supported by them. I spent the next hour not moving my arms from my keyboard so he didn’t wake. ‘Dorable.

~~~~~

I’m pretty sure I’m feeling baby move. It feels like when you’re bringing a goldfish home from the store and he swims into the side of the bag. And it’s getting more frequent and stronger. So. Cool.

~~~~~

I switched midwife groups. My appointment yesterday was with a new midwife group. I just wasn’t happy with my old ones. I didn’t feel respected and involved in my own care….which was the whole point of going to a midwife in the first place. So I started shopping around and found a new group who, so far, I absolutely love. It’s a pair of midwives who run a much smaller practice and so are far less assembly-line. As my hubby said after our appointment yesterday, with the old midwives it felt like they were holding court. With these, it feels like they’re having a conversation with you. They are still clearly the experts, but they are so comfortable in their competence they don’t feel like they have to prove it all the time by being so authoritative. It’s wonderful.

~~~~~

Christmas is here in 9 days! Sweet! Wait…when did that happen???

~~~~~

Only 2.5 weeks until I get to see my baby on ultrasound for the first and (hopefully) only time! (Hopefully because the only reason I’d have another is if something is wrong.) Holy cow that’s only 2.5 weeks away! I CANNOT WAIT.

Baby might be willing to wait, though. He/She swam away from the doppler yesterday. Which cracked me up.

Oh, and to make it even better? My midwives gave me permission to not drink a crapton of water before showing up. I’m pulling for no tears this ultrasound! Well, except happy ones.

~~~~~

What are your favorite things this holiday season?

1 Comment

Filed under Life, Pregnancy

One response to “These are a few of my favorite things…

  1. Feeling the baby move is the best thing ever.
    I also love when it really sinks in that you’re pregnant and you and others start talking to your belly.
    Swoon.

Leave a Reply

