Reasons I love EC

As I said before, when I started EC it was largely just to say I tried and prove to myself it didn’t work. However I was shocked by how easy it was, and now almost 2 months in I love it! We don’t do it strictly; baby girl is still in diapers all the time to take the pressure off, but I love what we do do. Here is some of why:

-Cleaning up a messy bottom is much more pleasant when the mess is not spread and stuck all over her bottom.
-Not getting peed and pooped on sure is nice! I can count on one hand the number of times this has happened since starting ec, and for those times it was like she was trying not to but couldn’t wait til I got her to the potty, so it was very confined.
-Every time I save a diaper by taking her to the potty before she has used the diaper I feel like a ninja. A money-saving ninja. We have gone 7.5 hours in the same perfectly clean diaper multiple times!
-My baby spends much less time sitting in her own waste. As an added bonus, this means no issues with diaper rash and almost no issues with any redness at all.
-Many-fewer diaper blowouts means many-fewer stained clothes.
-We can leave baby butt-naked and be relatively confident nothing will happen. It’s nice to not have to rush a diaper change and to let her “air out”.
-We almost never change a diaper only to have her instantly fill the clean one(as she was a BIG fan of doing pre-ec).
-When she is fussy from gas or needing to poop, instead of just soothing her until it passes we can take her to the potty and cue her. This almost always instantly gets her to do what she needs and then she is happy again!

Those are some of what I love just using it now. I also very much look forward to an earlier and easier potty-training experience than we would likely otherwise have had. And an earlier transition means more money saved by being out of diapers years ahead of time! I am quite glad I heard of and tried this!

image

Obligatory baby girl photo

3 Comments

Filed under Baby Girl, Life

3 responses to “Reasons I love EC

  1. travelnole

    Wait, what is “ec”??

    • EC is basically infant potty training. Babies are capable of it, it’s pretty incredible!

      • travelnole

        Oh nice! I hadn’t heard that term for it before, but I did have a friend who began potty training at 8 months or something like that, and I was pretty impressed! I’ll have to research this.

Leave a Reply

