Nursing my love

I am not a giant lover of nursing. There are mamas who rave about how wonderful it is. I am not one. I find it preferable to bottles, but that’s about as far as it goes when you weigh the pros and cons. However, there are some very sweet parts of our nursing journey I have loved.

For a long time I could always make my baby love take a nap by stripping her down, putting her skin to skin, and side lying nursing with her in our bed. (I was always careful to keep the covers below her arm pits and the pillow far away, and these naps were the only time she was allowed to sleep in our bed.) It was so sweet feeling her warm little body relax completely against mine and knowing she felt safe there. She has always been a difficult sleeper, so this was the only way I could get her to take a nap that I could get one, too. I loved this closeness. A few mornings ago, for the first time, she nursed in the position but wouldn’t relax, wouldn’t sleep. I feel sad she’s already outgrown the guarantee of this.

~~~~~

It is pretty awesome that between running and producing enough milk for my child to spit up half of what she eats (shocking some pediatricians with the amount), fill copious numbers of diapers, and still be increasing her weight percentile I can eat like a trucker and still be losing weight.

—–

Milk drunk is hilarious. Plus watching my baby in that blissful state and knowing I put her there? Priceless.

Leave a comment

Filed under Baby Girl, Life

Leave a Reply

