Meat & Cheese Stuffed Shells

I have moved! I am now blogging at The Energizer Mommy. Please come join me there!

It’s been a month, time for me to post again! Sorry I suck at blogging. My whole life basically revolves around sleep still, so there isn’t much time in-bewteen for luxuries like peeing or blogging.

That was a lovely introduction to a food post.

My most popular post on here overall has been my recipe for Delicious Enchiladas. Those are still a staple in our house, and I still LOVE them. So good.

When Baby Love was approaching, the hubby and I prepared a bunch of food and put it in our new, upright deep-freezer. The food we prepared lasted us months, and I loved having homemade meals I could pull out and have ready in no time! So we’ve kept up the trend. I’ve adapted the Delicious Enchiladas, and every 3-4 months I cook meals for that timeframe.

I am wrapping up the cooking for this round today, and one of the new recipes I’m trying looks like YUM. I haven’t cooked it yet, but I’ve tasted the filling while stuffing it in the shells and ohmygoshheavenly.

So since the recipe was half made up on the fly, I thought, hey, I’ll write it down here so I can remember it and others can try it, too! If, when I cook it, it crashes and burns I’ll be sure to let y’all know, but this is a pretty straightforward freezer meal that many make so I don’t anticipate that. I just modified it for greater deliciousness, as is my wont.

Now behold…meat and cheese stuffed shells!

Ingredients

1 lb of ground turkey
1 lb of mild Italian sausage
1-2 onions (depends on size, your taste)
2 cloves of garlic, minced
4 cups of mozzarella cheese
1 16 oz container of ricotta cheese
2 eggs
1 cup of milk
~2 tsp of Italian seasoning (haha, like I measured)
2 packages of jumbo pasta shells
4 jars of spaghetti sauce

Steps

  1. Cook the jumbo pasta shells (under-cook slightly), drain, set aside
  2. Brown the turkey and Italian sausage with the onion, mixing it together into a homogenous mixture
  3. Add garlic, simmer for another minute
  4. Drain meat mixture
  5. Transfer meat mixture to a mixing bowl and add 2 cups of mozzarella cheese, ricotta, eggs, milk, and Italian seasoning. Mix together.
  6. Stuff shells and lay them in an 8×8 baking dish. This should yield 4 8×8 baking dishes worth.
  7. Cover each 8×8 baking dish with one jar of sauce. Sprinkle remaining 2 cups of mozzarella cheese over top.
  8. Freeze.
  9. When you’re ready to cook, take it out of the freezer and put in a preheated 375 degree oven for 1 hour and 45 minutes to 2 hours. If you have thawed it you can probably cook it for only ~30 minutes; everything except the egg is already cooked so you’re mostly just reheating and blending flavors.

Not too complicated, and yummy! The one thing I found is that I had a lot of leftover shells, evidently I either stuff them full or people like to make extra since so many of the shells are torn and thus hard to stuff. I’ve been munching on the completed meat mixture as I stuff the shells, and I’m very excited for the whole dish. Let me know if you try it, and any modifications you make!

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes, Uncategorized

One response to “Meat & Cheese Stuffed Shells

  1. Hubby

    I’ve been sitting here at work all day listening to her talk about how good this tastes. Various circumstances dictate we can’t actually cook these until mid next-week, and I’m *quite annoyed about this.*

    Mad props to my awesome wife for doing all this cooking!!!

Leave a Reply

